For Owners, CEOs and Directors
Start a Non-Medical Home Care Company
To start up a non-medical home care
agency in Georgia there are several licenses and registrations that
must be completed prior to operation. The Georgia
Department of Human Resources, Office of Regulatory Services
monitors, inspects and licenses or registers primary health care,
long-term care and residential child care programs. In
addition, they ensure that provider facilities, services and
programs meet state and other mandatory requirements. Below
you will find links to this department office along with many
other state and federal regulatory agencies.
Home Care Licensing
There is a required home care license in the state of Georgia which can be approved through the Department of Human Resources. To acquire a packet which will lead you through these licensing requirements, contact the…
of Human Resources
Office of Regulatory Services
A nurse must meet with the client to develop a care plan for medically fragile clients which includes incontinence and those requiring diaper changes.
Licensing is required for Companion Care as well as Personal Care.
$100 application fee with $250 due on start up with a maximum of $500 per year.
4 hour mandatory attendance at a licensing class.
Registering Your Business Name
To register your business in Georgia you must choose and register a Trade Name (a.k.a. Fictitious Name or Doing Business As). Trade names are registered with the Clerk of Superior Court of the county where the business is principally located.
Search for Clerk of Superior Court (by county)
The State of Georgia website provides employers with a fast and easy way to register a business online. Click on the website link and create a user profile. After that you will be able to sign-in to register your business.
Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
A Federal Employment Identification Number is required of all home care companies who will have employees. You may apply (Form SS-4) for an FEIN by calling the Business and Specialty Tax Line weekdays between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m. Eastern time at 1-800-829-4933. You may also apply online using the Internet EIN Application. For more information visit www.irs.gov/businesses.
State Income Tax Withholding
To read about employee tax withholding for the state of Georgia, go to the Georgia Department of Revenue website. Click on the Employer's Tax Guide link to find the answers to your questions as well as contact information for state employer tax requirements.
Georgia law requires that all employers provide Workers' Compensation if they have three or more employees. To cover employees with WC, employers must secure a policy of insurance or become a qualified self-insurer.
To read further about WC coverage, including rates and applications for self-insurance go to the Georgia State Board of Workers' Compensation website.
All Georgia employers must complete a
form immediately following the payment of the first Georgia payroll.
To know if you meet the criteria for submission of this application, go to the Georgia Department of Labor website.
This site also offers information on:
how much of each employee's wages do I have to pay taxes on each year?
links to obtaining required forms
many other UI tax related questions.
State Management of Medicaid
For any questions about Georgia state regulations on Medicaid for your business, please contact the
Georgia Department of Community Health
2 Peachtree Street, NW
Atlanta, GA 30303
The Office of Regulatory Services under the Georgia Department of Human Resources is able to certify home care agencies for Medicare and Medicaid.
Information on this page is believed accurate as of the most recent update, February 2, 2006. Corrections or additions may be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org. This guide is meant as a starting point for business creation research, and may not be complete or current. Private Duty Today shall not be liable for errors or omissions.